40 Days: 35) Tragedy to Triumph

So I got a new Blu Ray disc player for our family at an absolute steal of a price yesterday. I text one of my friends to ask if I could borrow a Blu-ray Disc to try it out, and instead of lending a disc he bought me a Blu Ray copy of “Live at Last” – the London concert in 2008 of my favorite musician, Stevie Wonder.

As I began to watch the concert (I own it on regular DVD, but man, I’m so slow to the Blu Ray experience which FAR outweighs it – #FWP I know) I was so appreciative of the genius and prodigy that is Stevie Wonder – no one probably apart from the Beatles can write musically complex yet extremely memorable melodies like Stevie. No one conceptualizes albums like Stevie. No one plays any instrument like Stevie. No one sings like Stevie.

One thing that most will note about Stevie Wonder is that he is blind – and although he could’ve easily been a flash in the pan gimmick as the blind kid who plays and sings, Stevie Wonder is the most winningest Grammy male solo artist of all time, producing music that has spanned around 50 years. What may seem like a debilitating disability has not stopped mr Steveland Morris. He will ever be rated as one of the greatest melody makers of all time.

What tragedies have you faced or are you facing? Can I encourage you firstly on a surface level with the example of Stevie Wonder who could’ve just used excuses and settled for less than becoming the influence that he is on musicians like me with his musicianship.

Secondarily though it goes much deeper than turning your own tragedy to triumph. It’s also, like Christ at the cross at Golgotha, taking on board the suffering of others in their tragedy himself. He turns our tragedy of eternal separation and the consequence of sin, into one of triumph.

I’ll ever be trying to wrap my head around the boundless love of Christ, especially like this one we read from the Apostle Paul in his second letter to the church in Corinth:

For our sake he made him to be sin who knew no sin, so that in him we might become the righteousness of God. (2 Corinthians 5:21 ESV)

Let the love of Christ propel you to enable others to have their tragedy to triumph as you love them with Christs love!
20131230-005321.jpg

20131230-010502.jpg

Leave a Reply

