40 Days: 29) The Gospel According To Gru

For I am sure that neither death nor life, nor angels nor rulers, nor things present nor things to come, nor powers, nor height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God in Christ Jesus our Lord. (Romans 8:38, 39 ESV)

I must admit that as a father of three toddlers, and an avid viewer of kids films, that I wasn’t the biggest fan of the movie “Despicable Me” when it first came out. Upon reviewing it though I began to see many parallels in Gru, his daughters and the minions with the Gospel.

Gru is the central character of despicable me, who in his most evil of ways is in pursuit of becoming the most villainous of villains. His has a host of yellow smurf-like helpers called minions who seem to exist merely to facilitate Gru’s evil whims. Yes – the minions seem to just be background characters to Gru, only called upon if there is anything he needs.

In order to pursue Gru’s most sinister plan to date, he adopts three adorable girls. Unfortunately for him, their unconditional love for Gru seems to melt away at his hardened evil heart. No matter how many times he does wrong by them, how bad his parenting is, and how many non child-friendly words (and bodily noises) he says, the young cute girls just keep on loving on him. The movie ends with him becoming a protective and dare I say caring father to these girls.

How Christs love has melted away at my hardened heart, despite my fallenness and proclivity towards sin, His relentless love melts the evil away from my heart, and releases me to become what he designed me to be!

discussion/application question: have you experienced Gods love? How? If not, would you like to experience His love? Drop me a line below

20131003-204816.jpg

20131003-204829.jpg

One thought on “40 Days: 29) The Gospel According To Gru

  1. You are so right. Nothing, absolutely nothing can separate us from the love of God. Thank you for reminding me through this message that His love will always cause me to lean on Him more.

Leave a Reply

