40 Days: 24) Kanye and the fruit tree

You will recognize them by their fruits. Are grapes gathered from thornbushes, or figs from thistles? So, every healthy tree bears good fruit, but the diseased tree bears bad fruit. A healthy tree cannot bear bad fruit, nor can a diseased tree bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus you will recognize them by their fruits. (Matthew 7:16-20 ESV)

20130826-233448.jpg

So Kanye West said in this interview with Kris Jenner, mother of his girlfriend Kim Lardashian that he is a Christian (check out from around the 27 minute mark for the quote)

I’m not singling him out by any means, because I myself am on a journey to know Christ and his grace amidst my imperfection. And sure, the outspoken Mr West recently labeled himself god on his album “Yeezus” (for those not familiar with hip hop or Kanye, Yeezus is a combo of Jesus and ‘Ye which is short for Kanye) which came out a couple of months ago.

When I look at my life too, I see many a time I’ve failed to glorify God in my actions or even thoughts. So although I may have an opinion on presentations in popular media that demean my God who loves me and has saved me, I’m in no position to cast the first stone. When I observe the conversion of Saul who became the apostle Paul in the book of Acts (chapter 9) in the Bible, I see that God could take someone who not only ridiculed Christ, but was involved deeply in the murder of his followers, and show him ultimate mercy despite it all. God has shown that same grace to me, and I pray for people like Kanye West, that claim Christianity, will indeed encounter the wondrous life transforming mercy and love of Christ in a more real way than any VMA or Grammy performance.

Like any fruit tree, if the seed is that of a particular fruit say apple, it will bear apples. Furthermore I’m yet to walk through any apple orchard and find an apple tree making straining noises to produce fruit. It just drinks and stands still. Just as Jesus is always with us, we should drink from him in prayer, meditation in His word and communing with Him. The fruit comes from the more drink of Him, and not our struggle to be “better”.

Go deep in Christ, for all will know Him in you by your fruit!

reflection/discussion question: Do you see the fruit of Christ evident in your life? How/why not?

One thought on “40 Days: 24) Kanye and the fruit tree

  1. Neli, The story and life of Paul is amazing and always gives me hope. While never a murderer, I have certainly been a “fake” believer in God – saying one thing to myself, and living my life in a completely different way. But Saul was a man who was the antithesis of a Godly person, and then became one of the most Godly and learned men in the bible.

    For my – it is the STORY of Paul and not just his messages which give me such hope and strength!!!

    Paul

Leave a Reply

