40 Days: 20) I LOVE MY CHURCH

Husbands, love your wives, as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her, that he might sanctify her, having cleansed her by the washing of water with the word, so that he might present the church to himself in splendor, without spot or wrinkle or any such thing, that she might be holy and without blemish. (Ephesians 5:25-27 ESV)

So I’m on a train on my way to our celebration service at EN Central. As much as I’ve loved being in the USA and the UK over the last 3 weeks, there really is no place like home. I’m glad to say that EN Central, my community of faith here in Singapore, is home for me.

It’s not about the venue, although we are blessed to worship Jesus in a bar on Orchard Road, the main shopping stretch in our fair nation. It’s not about the service structure, or the environment we create in the “event” of church, because I know of tons of churches that are further down the ‘service structure’ track than we are, and can create vibrant environments that make New Years at Times Square look like a rural high school prom.

What it really does come down to for me is this: Worshiping & growing in Christ in the community he places me in.

I love the people that God has put around me. Sure, there are disagreements, and sure there are plenty of imperfections both individually and corporately, but we are all facing the same direction, towards Christ at the Center of all we do and say. Understanding that grants us the grace to walk together and worship Him together.

The reason why I know it is possible is because, Jesus himself would see it as worth laying his life down for. He died a cruel death for the Church. Sure he died for me, but it was always in the context of this worldwide Christ glorifying community described in Scripture as His bride called the Church.

My prayer is that all reading this would find home. For those who are in churches, be encouraged to do life in community – I hope you feel the same way about your church that I do about EN Central. Don’t just attend church, but do life in community. If it was worth Jesus dying for, it’s definitely worth you living for.

reflection/discussion question; Have you found a place that you can call your spiritual home?

20130811-145036.jpg

Leave a Reply

