40 Days: 18) Why NYC is the best city in the world

I’ll always love NYC. It’s always been my favourite city. Sure I was born and raised in Auckland and it will ever be my home. I live in Singapore and love it with my family and pastor there and I call it home too. I feel so connected to many cities globally, like Manila and Sydney are another two cities I’m so at home in. But New York City will always be my favourite city in the whole world.

Apart from it being the birthplace of hip hop, here in a nutshell is why I believe NYC is the only city that is a glimpse of what Heaven might look like – no not in terms of the structure as much as the people. Paul the apostle sums it up best when he says:

There is neither Jew nor Greek, there is neither slave nor free, there is no male and female, for you are all one in Christ Jesus. And if you are Christ’s, then you are Abraham’s offspring, heirs according to promise. (Galatians 3:28, 29 ESV)

We are staying with my uncle and aunt in law here in Jamaica, Queens, and we were talking about how beautiful the cultural experience is of NYC. Even to drive around the corner from their house onto Main Street – to go straight down for 3-5 minutes would mean to pass some of the largest Jewish, Korean and Chinese communities in the nation, all within a few blocks of each other. No fighting, just bringing their beauty to the city.

Of course in Christ, he makes us the “city on a hill” which shines for his glory for all to see. We shine best when we are who God made us as individuals yet at the same time finding unity in the love that Christ has for us.

He makes us most beautiful when we are soaked in His sacrificial love together.

20130727-184300.jpg

Leave a Reply

