40 Days: 15) Scandal of Grace

For in him all the fullness of God was pleased to dwell, 20 and through him to reconcile to himself all things, whether on earth or in heaven, making peace by the blood of his cross. 21 And you, who once were alienated and hostile in mind, doing evil deeds, 22 he has now reconciled in his body of flesh by his death, (Colossians 1:19-22a ESV)

courtesy of michaelparnold.blogspot.com

We sang this song this morning in our staff devotions here at Every Nation Singapore. Yup – Wrecked again by His grace. This songs lyrics in the first verse get me every time:

Too much to make sense of it all
I know that Your love breaks my fall
The scandal of grace, You died in my place
So my soul will live

It is indeed scandalous that the son of God with whom God’s fullness was pleased to dwell would choose to reconcile all things including you and I to the Father making peace by the blood of his cross.

THE FULLNESS of GOD is PLEASED TO DWELL in the ONE WHO SHED BLOOD ON THE CRUEL CROSS FOR ME.

The chorus lyrics aptly sum up the only response we can muster up in light of this:

Too much to make sense of it all
I know that Your love breaks my fall
The scandal of grace, You died in my place
So my soul will live

Reflection/Discussion Questions: What will be your response to the scandalous grace found at the cross of Jesus for you?

Leave a Reply

