40 Days: 4) The G.a.P.

This is the 4th of 40 daily devotional posts based on my pursuit of a deeper understanding and appreciation of the work at the cross of Jesus Christ. Feel free to click “follow” and journey with me on a daily basis.

 

courtesy of GandP.bandcamp.com

To the saints and faithful brethren in Christ who are in Colosse:

Grace to you and peace from God our Father and the Lord Jesus Christ (Colossians 1:2 NKJV)

Todays thoughts aren’t original with me, I’ve heard a number of teachers and preachers talk about the apostle Pauls “Grace and Peace” openings in each of his letters, as being more than just as greeting.

When I write emails to people that I don’t know that well, I often depart with the salutation “Grace and Peace”, and I must admit, initially it may have been for the right reasons, but lately it’s become more out of routine.

I must tell you in all honesty, that I at times find myself forgetting the power of those 3 words. Grace and Peace.

I realise that the reason why Paul writes “Grace and Peace” at the start of each letter, is because that is the start of our Christianity.

 

The root and the fruit

Tullian Tchividjian, one of my favorite preachers describes grace as being the root of Christiantity, with peace being the fruit.

Recognizing the cross of Christ as being the seed that spurts forth the root structure of grace, that as we grow more and more in the revelation of this grace of God, the fruit that is borne is that of the peace of God. There comes an utter peace when we can know that our lives are sustained by His grace.

Tullian Tchividjian goes on to define grace as “unconditional acceptance granted to an undeserving people from an unobligated Giver”.

There is no room for anxiety or fear, when you are rooted in grace, because being rooted in this undeserved acceptance brings rest in knowing there’s no point in striving for that which you could never attain. It would be like trying to do the long jump… to Mars. Go ahead and try… as they say here in Singapore – cannot lah!

Just the mere truth of this “unconditional acceptance” being brought from a place of utter darkness, and coming to life in light of this love makes me want to live my life as a celebration of God’s goodness.

I’m reminded of a dance that some of my friends from Every Nation church back in NZ did at a conference back in 2004. Here check it out:

 

Discussion/Reflection questions: What does it mean to you to be rooted in God’s grace? Have you experienced the true peace of God in your life?

Leave a Reply

