40 Days – Day 40: The Blank Page

So how do I end this 40 day spree of blogging? By talking about sustaining what I have learnt.

I know that it could be a blog about praying more, reading Scripture more, even one about intimacy with God. Those are all valid.

But this time around I want to end, by talking about sustaining what I do for God, because if there is anything, I want to finish this race well. (Again making reference to the end of 2 Timothy and 1 Corinthians 9:24-27).

For me, this lies in that which is conceived during my lifetime, and especially in this season of my life, I know a lot of it has to do with sustained creativity.

_____________________________________

I’m reading “Untitled: Thoughts on the Creative Process” by Blaine Hogan. For those of you who don’t know who he is, you might remember a presentation he did at Global Leadership Summit last year:

He mentions in his book, about the battle to break through the haunting sense of the blank page. Whether life, or making your dreams happen – here’s a video intro to some of the thoughts addressed in the book:

It’s kind of a beautiful way to end this 40 day blogging spree… of which I hope to keep momentum: to hear of someone who has taken their ideas and made them a reality. Here’s a few pointers he gives:

1) See potential in the blank page… It doesn’t have to be haunting.

2) Write something down – get disciplined in making regular entries, and setting aside time to work at whatever it might be.

3) Meaningful work always has constraints: whether budgets, deadlines or resource limitations.

4) Solving interesting problems or “landing planes” brings excitement to life. It’ll always be hard, but it should also be fun.

5) Stop associating the excuse of disorganization as a trait of creativity. Good stewardship of creativity requires organization.

6) Being eccentric doesn’t necessarily make you creative.

There’s so much that I’m learning just being halfway through the book, but I did want to say, that through making a commitment to plough through writing daily, I think that discipline is more important to me than discomfort. In fact, I know that the discomfort is usually the best state for me to be in to produce, and I’m learning to embrace productive “awkwardness” as an ally. I’d like to invite you to do the same, as we tread through the next 40 days…

Thanks for riding with me…

Leave a Reply

