40 Days – Day 39: The Home Stretch part 3 (a “FUN PACKED” year ahead…)

“Its the fun pack pack!”

I love Singapore… I love that God in his masterful authoring brought me here, and my prayer for Singapore this year is that we would be a nation that moves ahead in FUN!

One thing I’d love to see in Singapore is more people who enjoy life… I’m not saying that Singaporeans (myself included as a resident here) don’t know how to enjoy ourselves, but I’d like to see more smiles around here – I think the world could do with more smiles in general. We’re only given one chance to have a fun packed life, so I’ve made a conscious decision to not only enjoy it for myself!

Here’s 3 thoughts I had about making life fun:

1) Life is more fun lived with others: true enjoyment I’ve found can only be discovered in purposes that are greater than myself. Humour, enjoyment, love are all things that are best enjoyed in the context of others…

2) Learn not to take yourself too seriously: you can take a cause seriously, or your purpose seriously, but of ourselves? One thing I’ve learnt people who don’t know when to laugh at themselves usually end up friendless and crippled from moving forward.

3) Jesus laughed: Check this out from Pastor Mark Driscoll about Jesus’ sense of humor:

“A glad heart makes a cheerful face, but by sorrow of heart the spirit is crushed… All the days of the afflicted are evil, but the cheerful of heart has a continual feast.”

Proverbs 15:13,15 ESV

Following Christ was meant to be fun… Our faces were designed to smile more, and life was meant to be enjoyed… Do you enjoy yours?

 

Leave a Reply

