40 Days – Day 31: Getting Defensive

I have 20 minutes before I have to teach this lecture at ENLI on Apologetics and just reading through my lesson, I began to think about how people can easily accept a certain philosophy or train of thought, without

A ready defense... GO ALL BLACKS!

necessarily seeing where the final stop of the that train.

That goes for me as a Christ follower as well. I’m reading through these notes thinking how important it is for me to know firstly, what I believe, and secondly, why I believe what I believe.

1 Peter 3:15 “but in your hearts honor Christ the Lord as holy, always being prepared to make a defense to anyone who asks you for a reason for the hope that is in you; yet do it with gentleness and respect,”

This is a verse often used in defense of apologetics which does mean to give defense for faith. Rightfully so. My issue though is that this verse is often misinterpreted:

1) Defense without Offense. Like most team sports requiring possession of territory, defense is indeed important, but not the main objective of the game. The same can be said of faith – you don’t just want to defend, you want to win! We win by not only winning debates, but showing the beauty of the Gospel message which in it’s preaching will see people know Christ! We win, because He wins…

2) Gentleness and Respect. Right at the end of that verse are these two qualities of which the defense is given. I’ve always loved that people describe the difference rugby and soccer as “a hooligans game played by gentlemen, and a gentlemen’s game played by hooligans” respectively. We approach defending our faith with viciousness in prayer and love, but gentleness and respect in our approach.

Leave a Reply

