40 Days – Day 28: The Right Stuff

I saw via twitter that in New York, the already existing supergroup of NKOTBSB (New Kids on the Block and Backstreet Boys) joined forces with Bell Biv Devoe to male one of the largest boy bands that side of the Pacific… (I still think Super Junior from Korea has like an army of pretty boys in their slew, and I wouldn’t necessarily call BBD a boy band). For some reason this morning I awoke singing that old NKOTB song “The Right Stuff” thinking of those old moves that some of my friends would try to pull off as school dances (I won’t say anything about the racial breakdown of my school, but let’s just say in my time, it was the nicer school in my district, so it kinda was reminiscent of Footloose).

Speaking of Right Stuff, it seems that God has been taking my devotional life over the past few days to the area of faith, not just salvific, but every day faith. My prayer has been this morning, “LORD, show me the RIGHT STUFF to have faith in prayer for”.

In Hebrews 11, the author lists the “Faith Hall of Fame”, but before they do, there lies these 3 verses:

Now faith is the assurance of things hoped for, the conviction of things not seen. For by it the people of old received their commendation. By faith we understand that the universe was created by the word of God, so that what is seen was not made out of things that are visible. (Hebrews 11:1-3 ESV)

1) you cannot hope for that which you already see manifested in your life. But faith believes like His will is being done right now.

2) people in history are always commended for stepping out in faith. The greater the area of faith or trust, usually equates to the greater the commendation.

3) THE RIGHT STUFF FAITH is based on the Word of God (and a correct Exegesis not Isogesis of it). You see themes running throughout Scripture and it’s these things that we can see are on the heart of God.

4) faith is not made of things temporal, that’s usually our ability. And although we can have THE RIGHT STUFF FAITH for visible changes – (physical healing, provision) God loves when we have THE RIGHT STUFF FAITH for big and eternal things (Salvation, the nations, the poor, especially the Gospel).

I don’t know about you but I’m gonna pray audacious today… I just sense that’s the right stuff to pray for – after all he is an audacious God!

20110802-091523.jpg

Leave a Reply

