40 Days – Day 14: Adele and the Baby Scan

The manger where all my children have been born

So today Tina and I went to good old Thomson Medical Centre to see how our new baby Jordan is doing inside her mother’s womb. According to the doctor, baby is doing so well. Big like her siblings though – still wondering where that comes from…

I’m fascinated by it in a Psalm 139:13-14 sort of way:

For you formed my inward parts;

you knitted me together in my mother’s womb.

 I praise you, for I am fearfully and wonderfully made. 

Wonderful are your works; my soul knows it very well.

As I pray for my new daughter each night, I often wonder what she must be thinking right now? And when she arrives, how she will enjoy her two siblings. How they will feel about having a new baby sister around? I’ve always told my eldest daughter that she is Daddy’s princess, but now that there is another Daddy’s princess, how she will feel about sharing that title with someone else? Do I need to find new titles? Any suggestions?

Either way – God’s got it figured out, way past childhood, past the teen years into her adulthood. And I must say: my soul does know it very well… It’s nice to know that, in your soul.

Then I thought about how God knew about each birth and knows about each birth happening each day in history. He already has everything mapped out. Predestined.

He knew you would arrive when you did. He even knew you’d read this. And when you know that the Creator knows in detail what your designed to live for. So then the question is raised as to whether we should live out as designed, no matter what the circumstances are that we come up in?

Just like my favourite pop singer sang “Should I give up, or should I just keep chasing pavements, even if it leads nowhere…”

Pavements were designed to be walked on, and to lead somewhere

Press on… it goes somewhere

Press in… He’ll guide you…

 

Leave a Reply

