40 Days – Day 13: The Ultimate

the Ultimate?

So I was reading through Ephesians 1 this morning. I love how Paul the apostle writes this particular piece of Scripture: starts with probably one of the shortest greetings you’ll find in a Pauline epistle, before going on this tirade of a sentence on the cosmic election and predestination of the saints before the foundation of the world (1:4). But there was a particular verse recurring theme that caught my eye, and I wanted to see if it caught yours. Even if it probably did, then I’m sure you’d think this is fundamental, whereas I thought it to be quite profound, and even more so, increased my ever increasing thankfulness towards God.

Here’s some clues from Ephesians 1:

vs . 6 – to the praise of his glorious grace, with which he has blessed us in the Beloved.

vs 12 –  so that we who were the first to hope in Christ might be to the praise of his glory.

vs 14 – who is the guaranteeof our inheritance until we acquire possession of it,to the praise of his glory.

OK so those of us who follow Christ have been chosen and predestined before the foundations of the world for a purpose. But have you thought about what that purpose might be? I’ll be honest, I’ve always thought the honour of being chosen and redeemed, is the ultimate purpose, but was pleasantly surprised to read this in my commentary of vs 6.:

“God’s ultimate purpose is not redemption as such but the praise of his glorious name through redemption.” (ESVSB – Ephesians 1:6)

It makes total fundamental sense. I’m choosing today to live out in the ultimate function of PRAISE… If you’re in Christ, join me, and let’s get our praise on today…

 

Song for today: Fred Hammond – Let the Praise Begin


Leave a Reply

