40 Days – Day 8: Jesus in NOT your HOMEBOY

As I’m preparing for my talk this weekend at EN CENTRAL, a particular point that I was exploring in Scripture struck either a chord or a nerve with me when I looked at how it related to the worlds perception.

If you know me at all, you know one of my pet peeves is when people treat Jesus with irreverence. Thinking that Jesus needs PR pop culture in an effort to “funk up” the image of the apparently irrelevant and unapproachable Christianity, he gets referred to as “my homeboy”?

First of all, I haven’t heard anyone use the term “homeboy” since In Living Color and Public Enemy were cutting edge. Yup the term “homeboy” hasn’t been relevant for a long time. Secondly, since when has Jesus and the message EVER been irrelevant. I would even go as far as to say with the state of morality, the economy and the world in general today – has there ever been a time that the world EVER NEEDED JESUS MORE?

I don’t know about you, but when I see the world in this much trouble, I’m not calling on my clique, my posse or my syndicate (yup, homeboy is about as relevant in hip hop terminology as the word “fly” is used to describe J Lo as a Wayans dancer). I’m not calling my homeboy, I’m calling on my God, Jesus Christ.

Now don’t get me wrong, I love the fact that we can have a relationship with Christ, and an intimate one at that! He is the lover of our souls, the Balm of Gilead, the Shepherd. Jesus even referred to God only as Father. These all point towards the intimacy of relationship that we can enjoy with Him. But it’s in that intimacy that we enjoy a correct perspective in our relationship with Jesus.

As much as I do love em, I don’t worship my homeboys. But I do worship Jesus. He owns me.

Song of the day (it’s not a song – more a spoken word): Allow Me to Reintroduce the Christ – Blair Wingo

Leave a Reply

