40 Days – Day 5: Habits

I learnt a new, non existent word when I moved to Singapore, amongst some of my friends here… HAPPY MONTHSARY EN CENTRAL

As I was planning for this weekends services at EN Central and our leaders meetings for our volunteers and staff, I began to think of how important it is as a young, well, anything; to instill healthier habits from the get go. Like my kids – right now I’m trying to instill within them values that would manifest into habits. It’s a work in progress, like myself.

I saw this TED talk from Matt Cutts about habits just yesterday:

Then I read this from Proverbs 6:6-11

 “You lazy fool, look at an ant. Watch it closely; let it teach you a thing or two. Nobody has to tell it what to do.  All summer it stores up food; at harvest it stockpiles provisions. So how long are you going to laze around doing nothing? How long before you get out of bed?  A nap here, a nap there, a day off here, a day off there, sit back, take it easy – do you know what comes next? Just this: You can look forward to a dirt-poor life, poverty your permanent houseguest! Always Cooking Up Something Nasty” (The Message).

I don’t know about you, but I felt challenged by this Scripture to not see myself as remotely comparable to an ant. Like Piper and Lecrae say – Don’t Waste Your Life!

This prompted me to list a few things I’d like to try for 30 days. You’re reading day 5 of one of them (Here’s three of them that I can share with you):

  • Write a blog entry for reflection (like the one you’re reading.)
  • Work on a new original song for at least half an hour
  • Tuck my kids in to sleep

There are others…

What would some of the new habits you’d like to see established in your life, and are willing to make steps towards in the next 30 days?

Song of the day: PAUSE – Lisa McClendon

 

 

 

 

One thought on “40 Days – Day 5: Habits

Leave a Reply

