40 Days: Day 3 – Level Ground

As I write this, my son is gently drifting off to sleep – and so the brightness of my laptop screen is turned way down so as to not wake him up. Also it feels a lot more reflective with the lights down low like Bob Marley and Lauryn Hill.

My song of the day: Brian Johnson – Worthy is the Lamb

"I Kissed Hallucinations Goodbye" - Joshua Harris testifies about the power of prayer in his life.

 

I am reflecting on a very fulfilling Sunday. Especially tonight at Every Nation Central. My brother in arms, Joshua Harris spoke at EN Central about the role of prayer in his life, especially in regards to how even as he cried out to God as one who was running away from him, that God answered and rescued him. I don’t know about you, but I’m blown away by that – first of all that God would even want to answer us when we pray, and then secondly, that he’d even bother to rescue us. Blows my mind, every time I think about it.

I personally learnt and shared during our time of singing today, to take my life of prayer deeper than just praying for stuff, or for stuff to happen, or even deeper than only praying for other people. But just to commune with God – that he would be my portion and all that I need.

Josh used a great quote from CS Lewis today in his message:

I know now Lord, why you utter no answer. You are yourself the answer. Before your face questions die away. What other answer would suffice?”

In prayer let’s be reminded: He is ALL we need.

 

On Level Ground

Ok just to clarify – I’m not saying at all that we are of equal status to God. To say “far from it” would be an extreme understatement. But again the mere fact that the execution of Jesus Christ some almost 2000 years ago would bring me as a most vile undeserved sinner in a place where I could possibly be associated, let alone called son of a pure, righteous, all powerful, holy God. To know that God would even care, leaves me at a loss for words.

But there’s something to be said for the way that Christ made himself available to us. He ultimately challenges us to do the same – make our love available to an unloved world.

(kinda reminded me of Brian Doerksens concept here…)

Leave a Reply

