Just Wright (Film Review)

If you know me, you know that the Romantic Comedy, along with the Horror film are my least favourite genre’s of film. So I must say from the get go that this movie did not change my opinion. I was drawn into the film by it’s two lead characters, because as most of you also know about me, I’ve been a hip hop head since I was 11 or 12.

This one stars Queen Latifah as Leslie Wright – a young African-American professional who always seems to luck out when it comes to men: they love spending time with her but see her as more of a buddy, and not in the De La Soul sense. She seems to live in the shadow of her god-sister Alexander (Paula Patton) who’s greatest desire is to marry someone successful. Good fortune lands in Wright’s lap, when she meets New Jersey Nets star player Scott McKnight (Common) and they seem to hit it off (yup, even the character names of the rappers rhyme). But as we know it’s not all roses…

The reason though that this movie doesn’t change my opinion on Rom-Com’s is because it’s the cliche’s that pull this movie way down. Latifah is likable as always in the lead role, and although Common is likable too, there are moments, you just wish he’d emote a bit more to match Latifah in the lead. Absolutely no surprises here, and you can pick the end from the first 20 minutes, but it’s likable enough for you to check it out if you’re a fan of the genre.

(Good to see my man D Wade and Dwight Howard represent in the basketball moments)

Leave a Reply

