ALMuk – Name Above All Names (album review)

ALMuk - Name Above All Names

Genre: Worship

I must be honest – when I first saw the cover art and knew nothing of this album, I was wondering who this new band was. So you can imagine when I got my copy, I was pleasantly surprised that it was Abundant Life Ministries. Yes, Mark Stevens was still around leading, but as I said, this was indeed quite a leap stylistically from the last album I heard from them.

A good leap I must say – I enjoyed the anthemic nature of most of the songs on this one, with strong production and arrangements that lend themselves to a lot more drive. Great and Glorious, Back to You and the title track come to mind when we address the drivenness, but there’s something charming yet powerful about “My God Reigns” that makes it my favourite track on this project.

Definitely singable in the congregational expression, yet fun musically, this album is beautifully Godward in nature. For me, that’s all that matters on a worship music album.

4/5

Leave a Reply

