Taking a break…

Last night, my wife Tina and I had the honour of attending the book launch of a friend of ours, Ali Smith whom some of you may know as an anchor on Channel News Asia. It was great to see her finally release her book: ENTRUSTING THE KEY: from Serial Dating to Joyful Waiting which I’m sure you can get here and eventually everywhere else… (especially written for all the single ladies – yeah yeah, go Beyonce chorus) Go get yours!


Inspired, yet convicted
Anyways, last night had me inspired and convicted at the same time. I had the chance to talk to Ali briefly about the process of writing and she told me about a few things that got her there, but one of the main factors that got her to the finish line of the completion of the book was that she had to cut out things that were extraneous. Certain meetings and activities. Disciplined to focus.



Which is why…

I’m taking a break from having an online presence. I won’t go too deep into why, but trust me, prayerfully you’ll see the fruit of it as I’m working on the projects, particularly one project, that is on my heart really heavily to complete.

Although I’m fully aware that Biblical fasting is from food, so I won’t call this a “fast”. It’s more like a QUEST… I look at this as more of a chance to realign, slow down and be a lot more reflective. And of course, GET THINGS DONE…

"Running anyone?"


Learning the difference

One of my favourite passages in Scripture is when Paul the apostle is talking to the church in Corinth and he basically puts it like this:

Remember that in a race everyone runs, but only one person gets the prize. You also must run in such a way that you will win. All athletes practice strict self-control. They do it to win a prize that will fade away, but we do it for an eternal prize. So I run straight to the goal with purpose in every step. I am not like a boxer who misses his punches.

1 Corinthians 9:24-26 (NLT)

I’m learning that there is a difference between training or practicing for something, and actually doing something. The training has been done, the starter gun is loaded, and I’m poised at the line ready to win this (enter blaring Bill Conti soundtrack). Hope you can bear with me, as I take time to GET IT DONE… Please pray…

Watch this space for what IT is…

One thought on “Taking a break…

Leave a Reply

