So proud to be a KIWI! (my week in sport)

VuvuZEALAND!

The good news is – the MIGHTY MAROONS schooled the BLUES in State of Origin Rugby League…

The bad news is – the LAKERS… yeah yeah…

I just finished seeing NZ play Italy (the World Cup champions) tonight, and am over the moon about how the All Whites did…

As a former soccer player back in high school (yup I know you can’t believe it to look at me, but I used to be a Center Midfield in Mt Wellington, and at High School), this far supersedes the 1982 effort that NZ put into the World Cup back then in Spain. We lost every match, and we celebrated the fact that we scored two goals… in a match against Scotland (they scored 5).

Do I sound like one of those Uncle Rico characters talking about the sports I used to play, and reliving the glory days?

Tonight we blow our Vuvuzelas in honour of the fact that we parred with the World Champion Italians – they have 5 million footballers in their nation of 59+ million people. We have 4+ million people. This is not our top sport, I’d hesitate to say it would probably

Smeltz smacks it into the back of the net...

rank around no. 5 or 6 (I’m just guessing) behind sports like rugby league, netball, basketball and yes, our bastion of all sports, rugby union.

Even here in Singapore, and dear I say other nations in South East Asia, soccer is a lot more popular. A TON MORE…

But as you know, no matter what sport you put NZ in, WE’RE FIGHTERS…

I was asked last week, before the cup started, who I’d be rooting for… Now in all honesty, I’ve always been a Brazil supporting dude. But to see our boys there? My response was, and now EVEN MORE is New Zealand… For me, they’ve already won…

Watching them is wonderful – they play like a TEAM. They play with HEART. And the WORK HARD, and ENJOY THEMSELVES. In an uneventful, upset filled opening round, NZ has played their hearts out, and it’s made for great observation. Well, especially this game…

In my humble opinion, the man of the match... Patton endured the 90 minute Italian onslaught with some brilliant goal-keeping...

To my neighbours hearing a ton of “White Noise” in Pasir Ris – I apologize like One Republic.

Let’s just hope the All Blacks keep the momentum going in next years home Rugby World Cup – (we ain’t won one since 87), and that NZ throws some money into NZ soccer… Like my friend Erik said – “Lets see Italy try and draw with us there”…

Tu Meke Aotearoa!

TO SEE HIGHLIGHTS of the MATCH CLICK HERE

Leave a Reply

