What’s the Story? (inspired by part 1 of Donald Miller’s “A Million Miles…”)

I’ve been in the middle of Donald Miller’s A Million Miles in a Thousand Years for a fair while now. Since it was pouring with rain here in Singapore for most of today, I thought, what a wonderful chance to catch up on the book. (I don’t know about you, but A Million Miles… is one of four books I’m in the middle of right now – I read my books like I operate my computer: with many windows open in the middle of tasks. But that’s another post, another time).

How story saves lives by living them

I just read the chapter entitled “How Jason Saved His Family” where Miller talks about a conversation he had with a friend named Jason, highly inspired after attending Robert McKee’s seminar on “Story“. At the time, Jason’s family was dealing with his daughters trouble with drug use, and he didn’t know what to do about it. To which Miller responded:

“I don’t know, exactly, but she’s just not living a very good story. She’s caught up in a bad one.”

Miller had described previously, that the essence of a good story would be:

“a character who wants something and overcomes conflict to get it”.

The Resolve

Well I won’t kill the story for you, you should read the book (I personally think Miller is one of the best at what he does). But let’s just say that Jason manages to find a solution for his daughter and his family, by going out of his way to seek a group of people in conflict, using all he had within his reach, including his daughter, to help them overcome. He threw his family into a good story.

As you read through the bible you see God as the Creator, the Forgiver, the Friend, the Strength, the Comforter. You see also that he is the Master Story-teller. Those that we read about in Scripture that are considered in possession of heroic qualities, only serve to reflect God and come from great, compelling stories. I get the sense that God intended all of us to live good stories.

what’s your story?

Leave a Reply

