I must admit I haven’t seen much of the Olympics this time around. Glad to see NZ doing well on the medals table (GO KIWI!), and sad that I missed the famed Mr Bean, James Bond and the Queen intro (but can it compete at all with that stunning Beijing opener? I mean they had dude running horizontal along the ceiling of the stadium to light the torch remember?)

Interestingly enough, every time I turn on Singapore’s coverage here, I’ve just so happened to catch 3 sports so far: Swimming, Table Tennis and of course Badminton. Apart from the odd swimming comp, I’m not really a fan of spectating either of these sports. But I did find something particularly interesting on the Badminton court, when I heard about this controversy with 8 players from Indonesia, Korea and China being disqualified for losing on purpose:

I was a bit saddened by this happening on the largest world stage for sports, but I began of course (as I usually do) to draw life parallels and of course ask the question: Are we willing to give up and allow ourselves to be disqualified just because the opposition appears too strong in our lives?

Here’s a couple of pieces of wisdom from the Apostle Paul in keeping with the Olympic spirit:

1 Corinthians 9:25 Every athlete exercises self-control in all things. They do it to receive a perishable wreath, but we an imperishable.26 So I do not run aimlessly; I do not box as one beating the air. 27 But I discipline my body and keep it under control,[b]lest after preaching to others I myself should be disqualified.

 

Philippians 3:13 Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, 14 I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus.

 

There’s nothing more disgraceful in sports when potential champions “throw a game” whether in bribery or fear.

Don’t “throw the game” – be encouraged to play the sport of life in championship mode – you were born for nothing less!

Leave a Reply

